A full explanation of used car lemon law rights is rather complicated. Our California Lemon Law Attorneys are extremely well versed in the area of used car lemon law and stand ready to explain all the options available to you. Our attorneys will listen to your problems and help determine if you have a viable claim.
The Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act, commonly referred to as the California Lemon Law, provides protection for consumers who lease or buy used cars. As long as the used vehicle you purchased came with:
(1) a portion of the manufacturer’s warranty still in effect
(2) a dealer’s written warranty, or
(3) a certified pre-owned (CPO) vehicle warranty (meaning that the vehicle came with an additional warranty through a CPO vehicle program)
You may be entitled to compensation if you have experienced repeated problems with your vehicle during the warranty period. Compensation under the California Lemon Law may be in the form of cash damages or a refund of your purchase price.
California used cars qualify for protection under the used car lemon law if they are sold with a warranty. While a typical manufacturer’s warranty may be 3 years/36,000 miles, it can be more. In fact, some manufacturers provide powertrain warranties that last up to ten years. If the car was purchased while under the manufacturer’s warranty, even if you are not the original owner, then it may still qualify for coverage under the California Lemon Law.
If you have purchased a used car and no manufacturer’s warranty came with the vehicle, then the dealer must have provided a written warranty in order for the used car lemon law to apply. Dealer warranties on a used car can be limited to less than 3 months. State and federal law requires that Buyers Guides must be prominently displayed on used cars while they are being offered for sale. The Buyers Guide has two boxes on it, one labeled “Warranty” and the other “As Is.” If the warranty box is checked, then your vehicle came with a warranty and you may have a claim under the California Lemon Law.
As is probably apparent by now, you have a lot of options and too many to discuss here. Just give our California Lemon Law Attorneys a call for a free review of your case. We’ll walk you through all the steps to determine if you have a valid claim against the manufacturer. As always, there is no cost to you. The law requires the manufacturer to pay for all legal costs and fees.